Logo: EffizienzCluster - LogistikRuhr
Cloud

Goods Transport Management - Logistics as a Problem Solver

The demand for goods transport has been increasing steadily over the last few years. Transports exceed the capacity of the present traffic infrastructures. However, by using intelligent goods transport management, logistics can make a decisive contribution towards a sustainable improvement of the overall traffic situation.

In the course of globalization, as manufacturing bases became disconnected from the consumer markets they serve, intensive freight transportation between the continents has arisen. Goods transportation in this case is mainly carried out via air and sea. Within Europe and Germany, light and heavy goods vehicles are the main means of transport, for both long and short distances. Just-in-time concepts, but also the increase in very small delivery quantities which has come about due to e-commerce, are the cause of the high number of empty runs. However, the transport costs are not so high as to force companies to look for alternatives to trucks. In fact, the use of bigger and bigger trucks (gigaliners) is favored.

In the meantime, the possibilities of conventional transport optimization such as using larger and larger trucks, minimizing driving times or optimizing idle times have more or less been fully exploited. The capacities for handling and storage are limited. The reliability of transport chains is on the decrease while the susceptibility of logistics systems to fail is on the increase. Today, this causes more and more bottlenecks in supply and failures in industrial production. This key topic therefore focuses on intelligent goods transport management with innovative transport concepts. In particular it is about utilizing existing infrastructures more efficiently – in both transport routes and logistic facilities. The focus is on the development of supporting software systems.

The solutions and products developed in this key topic are intended to put logisticians – the people in logistics - in a position to make the right decisions in practice to achieve an acceptable use of resources.

Levels of Innovation

This key topic is a an effective problem solver giving new impetus to freight traffic to achieve secure and high-performance goods transportation. Among the essential fields of research are:

  • Secure transport chains by using multimodal networks, increasing the system stability of procurement and distribution network
  • More flow capacity and quality in logistics facilities, efficient planning and operation of logistics facilities
  • Increase the strengths of transport carriers, reducing the complexity and increasing the flexibility of multimodal transport
  • Better information links using IT to establish transparency for offers and to improve communication to keep information up to date and dynamic.

Potentials of this Key Topic

Today, logistics still frequently plays a subordinate role as far as manufacturing companies are concerned. Production (for example, the reduction of manufacturing costs) and marketing (for example, the extension of product lines) are still seen to be more important than logistics. Companies still underestimate the possibilities logistics has to deliver more efficiency throughout the company by using an integrated view. Intelligent transport optimization does not focus on cost reduction by achieving less expensive transportation or by making staff savings, it is much more about making better use of existing systems and operating them at full capacity.

At the same time, goods transport management is also about treating resources carefully and achieving responsible supply chains. This implies a change of thinking for the producers as well as for the consumers who have to become more open for such ecological aspects.

Goods transport of the future requires flexible procurement and distribution networks, the systematic implementation of all means of transportation and more efficient utilization of the available logistic facilities.

Contact person

Prof. Dr. Alex Vastag

 

Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics IML

Phone: +49 (0) 231 97 43 382

E-Mail:
alex.vastag
@iml.fraunhofer.de

Our network in Europe

 

Learn more about CPS!

Supporters
Members of EffizienzCluster
Partners

EffizienzCluster Management GmbH
Kölner Str. 80 - 82
45481 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Tel.: 0208-9925 - 255
Fax: 0208-9925 - 222
E-Mail: info@effizienzcluster.de

Logo: EffizienzCluster - LogistikRuhr
Cloud

Güterverkehrsmanagement - Logistik als Problemlöser

Die Nachfrage nach Güterverkehren steigt seit Jahren, die Transporte überlasten die heutigen Verkehrsinfrastrukturen. Mit einem intelligenten Güterverkehrsmanagement kann die Logistik jedoch einen entscheidenden Beitrag für eine nachhaltige Verbesserung der verkehrlichen Gesamtsituation leisten.

Im Zuge der Globalisierung, durch die Entkopplung von Produktionsstandorten und Verbrauchermärkten, ist ein intensiver Güterverkehr zwischen den Kontinenten entstanden. Der Warentransport erfolgt hier in erster Linie per Luft- und Seefracht. Innerhalb Europas und Deutschlands ist der Lkw das Transportmittel der Wahl, auf langen wie auf Kurzstrecken. Just-in-Time-Konzepte, aber auch die Zunahme von Kleinst-Liefermengen wie sie nicht zuletzt der E-Commerce fördert, verursachen dabei immense Leerfahrten. Die Transportkosten sind dennoch nicht so hoch, dass Unternehmen zwingend Alternativen zum Lkw suchen. Vielmehr wird vielfach der Einsatz immer größerer Lkw (Gigaliner) favorisiert.

Die Möglichkeiten der herkömmlichen Transportoptimierung durch den Einsatz immer größerer Lkw, die Minimierung von Fahrzeiten oder die Optimierung von Standzeiten sind inzwischen weitgehend ausgeschöpft, die Kapazitäten bei Umschlag und Lagerung endlich. Die Zuverlässigkeit von Transportketten nimmt ab, die Störanfälligkeit von Logistiksystemen steigt. Dies führt bereits heute immer öfter zu Versorgungsengpässen und Ausfällen in der industriellen Produktion. Das Leitthema setzt daher auf ein intelligentes Güterverkehrsmanagement mit innovativen Transportkonzepten. Insbesondere geht es darum, die bestehenden Infrastrukturen effizienter zu nutzen – ob Verkehrswege oder logistische Anlagen. Im Fokus steht dabei die Entwicklung von unterstützenden Softwaresystemen.
Die im Leitthema erarbeiteten Lösungen und Produkte sollen letztlich die Logistiker – die Menschen in der Logistik – in die Lage versetzen, in der Praxis die richtigen Entscheidungen zugunsten eines sinnvollen Ressourceneinsatzes treffen zu können. 

Ebenen der Innovation

Das Leitthema gibt dem Güterverkehr neue Impulse für einen sicheren und leistungsstarken Warentransport und profiliert sich so als Problemlöser. Zu den wesentlichen Forschungsfeldern gehören:

  • Sichere Transportketten durch die Einbindung multimodaler Netze, Erhöhung der Ausfallsicherheit von Beschaffungs- und Distributionsnetzen
  • Mehr Durchsatz und Qualität in logistischen Anlagen, effiziente Planung und Betrieb logistischer Anlagen
  • Stärken der Verkehrsträger stärken, Komplexitätsreduzierung und Erhöhung der Flexibilität im multimodalen Verkehr
  • Bessere Verknüpfung von Informationen durch IT zur Herstellung von Transparenz bei Angeboten und Verbesserung der Kommunikation im Hinblick auf Aktualität und Dynamik

Potenziale des Leitthemas

Die Logistik ordnet sich heute vielfach noch den Vorgaben der produzierenden Unternehmen unter: Produktion (z.B. Reduzierung von Herstellungskosten) und Marketing (z.B. Ausweitung von Sortimente) gehen vor Logistik. Noch unterschätzen die Unternehmen die Möglichkeiten der Logistik, durch eine integrierte Betrachtung unternehmensweit für mehr Effizienz zu sorgen. Eine intelligente Transportoptimierung fokussiert dabei nicht etwa Kostensenkungen durch günstigere Transporte oder Einsparungen von Personal, vielmehr werden bestehende Systeme besser genutzt und ausgelastet.

Gleichzeitig geht es im Güterverkehrsmanagement auch und gerade um einen schonenden Umgang mit den Ressourcen sowie um verantwortungsvolle Lieferketten. Dies impliziert durchaus ein Umdenken sowohl bei den Produzenten als auch bei den Konsumenten, die sich für ökologische Fragestellungen öffnen müssen.

Dokumente & Downloads

Der Güterverkehr der Zukunft bedarf flexibler Beschaffungs- und Distributionsnetze, dem gezielten Einsatz aller Verkehrsträger und einer effizienteren Nutzung der zur Verfügung stehenden logistischen Anlagen.

Ansprechpartner

Prof. Dr. Alex Vastag

 

Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik IML

Tel.: +49 (0) 231 97 43 382

E-Mail:
alex.vastag
@iml.fraunhofer.de

Our network in Europe

 

Learn more about CPS!

Unterstützer
Mitglieder im EffizienzCluster Logistik e.V.
Partner

EffizienzCluster Management GmbH
Kölner Str. 80 - 82
45481 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Tel.: 0208-9925 - 255
Fax: 0208-9925 - 222
E-Mail: info@effizienzcluster.de