Logo: EffizienzCluster - LogistikRuhr
Cloud

Activation of Cluster Potentials - Into the Future Together

The formation of clusters is an important tool for the active support of innovations. Yet, not even in the cluster does the development of innovations follow any automatism. In fact, it requires strategic and tactical controls to fully exploit the potential of a cluster and to fully expose its specific success factors.

Each region is in constant competition for investments, innovations and market success – on trans-regional, national and international levels. The bundling of resources and the transfer of knowledge in a cluster contribute to strengthening the unique competitive advantages of the region and the sector in the face of global competition. Combining the worlds of business, science, education, politics and administration in a cluster such as the EffizienzCluster LogistikRuhr, the largest research and development cluster in Europe’s logistics, allows the common use of supplementary resources and reduces frictional losses due to a lack of agreements.
Strengthen the strengths, develop synergies, push forward innovations together: Within the cluster the scope for development is bigger than in pure industrial projects as cooperations have wider implications. The future orientation intrinsic in a cluster is also more important than ever, because companies do not react to changes appropriately or in time, their average “life expectation” has been declining for years. The life expectation of a company was around 60 years in 1958, according to scientists in the year 2020 it will only be 10 years. The following also applies: Today, it is no longer just individual companies which are competing with each other, but entire supply chains – so the key players have to move together. Research and practice have already proven that innovative cooperation along the supply chain pays off, for example through shorter development times and the resulting cost savings. In fact, revolutionary developments like the “Internet of Things”, the pricing of CO2 emissions, near-field-communication or innovative web-based services will lead to even more radical changes.

Levels of Innovation

In order to activate the cluster’s full potential, coordination and a future-oriented supply of information are required that go far beyond the cooperation between the partners in the market or the provision of communication platforms. Only if all key players and partners in the cluster interact intelligently and are enabled to be efficient, can innovative products and technologies be created to cope with future challenges in logistics. That is why the following objectives are pursued in this key topic:

  • Generation of future-oriented, innovative and technology-driven knowledge for logistics clusters
  • Development of tools for the efficient and sustainable control of clusters
  • Provision of infrastructures to determine the competitiveness and future viability of companies

Potentials of this Key Topic

This key topic strengthens the competences of the EffizienzCluster in the evaluation of new strategies, processes and technologies for cluster management. Previously existing knowledge about the “impact mechanisms” of success factors, performance indicators and cluster effects will be supplemented by any missing logistic-specific parameters for target-oriented cluster controls. This key topic is dedicated to cluster research in an international context as well.

Geographical networking is just as important as a success factor as having virtual connections and the active exchange between the worlds of science, business and education – for competitive and worldwide leading logistics solutions.

Contact person

Dr. Falk Raschke

 

Goethe-Universität Frankfurt, Schumpeter Center for Cluster, Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Phone: +49 (0) 178 78 63 281

E-Mail:
raschke
@em.uni-frankfurt.de

Our network in Europe

 

Material Download
Supporters
Members of EffizienzCluster
Partners

EffizienzCluster Management GmbH
Kölner Str. 80 - 82
45481 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Tel.: 0208-9925 - 255
Fax: 0208-9925 - 222
E-Mail: info@effizienzcluster.de

Logo: EffizienzCluster - LogistikRuhr
Cloud

Aktivierung von Clusterpotenzialen - gemeinsam in die Zukunft

Die Bildung von Clustern ist ein wichtiges Instrument zur aktiven Innovationsförderung. Doch die Entstehung von Innovationen folgt auch im Cluster keinem Automatismus. Vielmehr bedarf es einer strategischen und taktischen Steuerung, um das Potenzial eines Clusters voll auszuschöpfen und seine spezifischen Erfolgsfaktoren zur Geltung zu bringen.

Jede Region befindet sich im ständigen Wettbewerb um Investitionen, Innovationen und Markterfolg – überregional, national und international. Die Bündelung von Ressourcen und der Transfer von Wissen in einem Cluster tragen dazu bei, die einzigartigen Wettbewerbsvorteile der Region und der Branche im globalen Wettbewerb zu sichern. Der Zusammenschluss von Wirtschaft, Forschung, Bildung, Politik und Verwaltung, wie er sich im EffizienzCluster LogistikRuhr manifestiert, dem größten Forschungs- und Entwicklungscluster der Logistik in Europa, ermöglicht die gemeinsame Nutzung sich ergänzender Ressourcen und vermindert Reibungsverluste aufgrund fehlender Abstimmung.

Stärken stärken, Synergien erschließen, gemeinsam Innovationen vorantreiben: Im Cluster ist der Entwicklungsspielraum größer als in reinen Industrieprojekten, Kooperationen besitzen eine erheblichere Tragweite. Die einem Cluster immanente Zukunftsorientierung ist auch wichtiger denn je: Weil Unternehmen auf den Wandel nicht rechtzeitig bzw. angemessen reagieren, sinkt ihre durchschnittliche „Lebenserwartung“ seit Jahren. Betrug die Lebenserwartung eines Unternehmens 1958 noch 60 Jahre, so wird sie Wissenschaftlern zufolge im Jahr 2020 bei nur noch zehn Jahren liegen. Zudem gilt: Heute stehen nicht länger Einzelunternehmen, sondern komplette Supply Chains im Wettbewerb – deshalb müssen die Akteure zusammenrücken. Forschung und Praxis belegen bereits, dass sich Innovationskooperationen entlang der Supply Chain zum Beispiel durch kürzere Entwicklungszeiten und damit einhergehende Kosteneinsparungen auszahlen. Tatsächlich werden auch revolutionäre Entwicklungen wie das „Internet der Dinge“, die Bepreisung von CO2-Emissonen, Near-Field-Communication oder neuartige webbasierte Services weiterhin zu fundamentalen Umbrüchen führen.

Ebenen der Innovation

Zur Aktivierung der Clusterpotenziale bedarf es einer Koordination und einer zukunftsgerichteten Informationsversorgung, die weit über die Zusammenarbeit der Partner im Markt oder die Bereitstel-lung von Kommunikationsplattformen hinausgeht. Nur wenn alle Akteure und Partner des Clusters intelligent zusammenspielen und zur Effizienz befähigt werden, können innovative Produkte und Technologien für zukünftige Herausforderungen in der Logistik entstehen. Im Leitthema werden daher folgende Ziele verfolgt:

  • Generierung von zukunftsorientiertem innovativem und technologiegetriebenem Wissen zu Logistikclustern
  • Entwicklung von Werkzeugen zur effizienten und nachhaltigen Steuerung von Clustern
  • Bereitstellung von Infrastrukturen zur Ermittlung der Wettbewerbs- und Zukunftsfähigkeit von Unternehmen

Potenziale des Leitthemas

Das Leitthema stärkt die Kompetenzen des EffizienzClusters in der Bewertung neuer Strategien, Prozesse und Technologien für das Clustermanagement. Bisher vorliegende Kenntnisse zur „Wirkungs-mechanik“ der Erfolgsfaktoren, der Leistungsindikatoren und der Clustereffekte werden um fehlende logistikspezifische Parameter zur zielgerichteten Clustersteuerung ergänzt. Dabei widmet sich das Leitthema der Clusterforschung auch im internationalen Kontext.

Dokumente & Downloads

Die räumliche Vernetzung ist für einen Cluster ein ebenso großer Erfolgsfaktor wie die virtuelle Verbindung und der aktive Austausch zwischen Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Bildung – für wettbewerbsfähige und weltweit führende Logistiklösungen.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Falk Raschke

 

Goethe-Universität Frankfurt, Institut für Gesellschafts- und Politikanalyse, Schumpeter Center for Cluster, Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Tel.: +49 (0) 178 78 63 281

E-Mail:
raschke
@em.uni-frankfurt.de

Our network in Europe

 

Material Download
Unterstützer
Mitglieder im EffizienzCluster Logistik e.V.
Partner

EffizienzCluster Management GmbH
Kölner Str. 80 - 82
45481 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Tel.: 0208-9925 - 255
Fax: 0208-9925 - 222
E-Mail: info@effizienzcluster.de