Logo: EffizienzCluster - LogistikRuhr
Cloud

Cellular Transport Systems

Rigid warehouse systems with stationary materials handling technology and heavy storage and retrieval machinery are complex and inflexible. In order to do justice to customers’ changing requirements, the warehouse of the future needs to have significantly more flexibility. An innovative system has to be able to make use of so-called “swarm intelligence”.

A growing range of articles and the increasing numbers of orders for smaller and smaller consignment sizes pose new challenges for warehouse logistics. They need to be able to access this wide range of articles as quickly, flexibly and economically as possible. Cellular transport systems with self-controlled, autonomous transport units are now to take over from the rigid structures in the warehouse. For some years now the industry has already been using shuttles as a flexible alternative to standard storage and retrieval machines. But until now these have still been attached to rails and are not really in a position to take on tasks other than putting articles into or taking them out of storage. Swarms of driverless transport vehicles which can take goods to the right workstations without any unnecessary detours will enable a whole new dimension of flexibility.

Objective of the Project

This project aims to develop a cellular transport system where vehicles can move freely without any lines or markings to guide them through the warehouse, and react dynamically to their environment, communicating with each other and taking care of both storage and transport tasks. The development of the Multishuttle Move is now being followed up with practical tests in a specially equipped demonstration area in the Research Hall for Cellular Materials Handling (“Zellulare Fördertechnik” (ZFT)).

Around 1,000 square meters of space are available to investigate and practice real warehouse operations. In what is probably the most extensive experiment ever carried out with artificial intelligence in logistics, 50 innovative autonomous transport vehicles move around between the shelves and the order picking workstations. The project aims to prove that it makes sense to replace stationary materials handling and storage and retrieval systems with autonomous shuttle systems for economical, ecological and technological reasons.

Specific Innovations

By utilizing a multi-agent system and with the help of ant-algorithms, “swarm intelligence” is being transferred to intralogistics. Using shuttles which can find their own direct route to the intended destination it should be possible to achieve much shorter routes within the warehouse. Other advantages include the scalability and changeability of the complete intralogistics system so that system performance can be controlled at will by changing the number of vehicles deployed at any particular time.

Partners in the Project

Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics IML

In future we will see a swarm of shuttles moving freely around our warehouses. Innovative vehicles combine warehouse and transport processes.

Contact person

Dr.-Ing. Sören Kerner

 

Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics IML

Phone: +49 (0) 231 97 43 170

E-Mail:
soeren.kerner
@iml.fraunhofer.de

 

Dipl.-Ing. Guido Follert

 

Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics IML

Phone: +49 (0) 231 97 43 253

E-Mail:
guido.follert
@iml.fraunhofer.de

Facts & Figures

Start of the Project

01/01/2010

Project Volume
5,5 Mio. Euro

More informations

click here

Learn more about CPS!

Our network in Europe

 

Supporters
Members of EffizienzCluster
Partners

EffizienzCluster Management GmbH
Kölner Str. 80 - 82
45481 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Tel.: 0208-9925 - 255
Fax: 0208-9925 - 222
E-Mail: info@effizienzcluster.de

Logo: EffizienzCluster - LogistikRuhr
Cloud

Zellulare Transportsysteme

Starre Lagersysteme mit stationärer Fördertechnik und tonnenschweren Regalbediengeräten sind aufwändig und unflexibel. Um den veränderten Kundenanforderungen gerecht zu werden, braucht das Lager der Zukunft deutlich mehr Flexibilität. Ein innovatives System soll sich die so genannte „Schwarmintelligenz“ zunutze machen.

Ein wachsendes Artikelspektrum und steigende Auftragszahlen bei immer kleineren Sendungsgrößen stellen die Lagerlogistik vor neue Herausforderungen. Gefragt ist ein möglichst schneller, flexibler und wirtschaftlicher Zugriff auf die Artikelvielfalt. Zellulare Transportsysteme mit sich selbst steuernden, autonomen Transporteinheiten sollen nun die starren Strukturen im Lager auflösen. Seit einigen Jahren hat die Industrie bereits Shuttles als flexible Alternative zum Regalbediengerät entdeckt. Doch diese sind bislang schienengebunden und nicht in der Lage, neben dem Ein- und Auslagern bei Bedarf auch andere Aufgaben zu übernehmen. Schwärme von fahrerlosen Transportfahrzeugen, die Ware ohne Umweg zu Arbeitsstationen bringen, sollen eine neue Dimension der Flexibilität ermöglichen.

Ziel des Projekts

Das Projekt zielt auf die Entwicklung eines Zellularen Transportsystems ab, bei dem sich die Fahrzeuge ohne Leitlinien und Markierungen frei durch ein Lager bewegen, dynamisch auf ihre Umgebung reagieren, miteinander kommunizieren und sowohl Lager- als auch Transportaufgaben übernehmen. Der Entwicklung des Multishuttle Move folgt der Praxistest in einer eigens eingerichteten Demonstrationsfläche, der Forschungshalle für „Zellulare Fördertechnik“ (ZFT).
Auf gut 1.000 Quadratmetern wird dort der Betrieb im Lager der Zukunft erprobt. Im wohl größten Versuch künstlicher Intelligenz in der Logistik bewegen sich 50 innovative autonome Transportfahrzeuge zwischen Regalen und Kommissionierstationen. Das Projekt soll den Beweis antreten, dass sich stationäre Fördertechnik und Regalbediengeräte ökonomisch, ökologisch und technisch sinnvoll durch autonome Shuttle-Systeme ersetzen lassen.

Konkrete Innovationen

Durch den Einsatz eines Multi-Agenten-Systems und mit Hilfe von Ameisenalgorithmen wird die „Schwarmintelligenz“ auf die Intralogistik übertragen. Durch Shuttles, die eigenständig den direkten Weg zum Ziel finden, sollen sich deutlich verkürzte Wege im Lager ergeben. Weitere Vorteile sind die Skalierbarkeit und Wandelbarkeit des gesamten intralogistischen Systems, so dass die Systemleistung sich über die Zahl der eingesetzten Fahrzeuge nahezu beliebig steuern lässt.

Partner im Projekt

Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik IML

Im Lager der Zukunft bewegt sich ein Shuttle-Schwarm frei durch die Halle. Innovative Fahrzeuge vereinen Lager- und Transportprozesse.

Ansprechpartner

Dr.-Ing. Sören Kerner

 

Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik IML

Tel.: +49 (0) 231 97 43 170

E-Mail:
soeren.kerner
@iml.fraunhofer.de

 

Dipl.-Ing. Guido Follert

 

Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik IML

Tel.: +49 (0) 231 97 43 253

E-Mail:
guido.folltert
@iml.fraunhofer.de

Daten & Fakten

Projektstart

01.01.2010

Projektvolumen
5,5 Mio Euro

Weitere Informationen

hier klicken

Wir geben der Logistik eine Stimme in Europa

Wir beraten den Mittelstand zu Industrie 4.0

Unterstützer
Mitglieder im EffizienzCluster Logistik e.V.
Partner

EffizienzCluster Management GmbH
Kölner Str. 80 - 82
45481 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Tel.: 0208-9925 - 255
Fax: 0208-9925 - 222
E-Mail: info@effizienzcluster.de