Logo: EffizienzCluster - LogistikRuhr
Cloud

E-Route - Electro-mobility at the last mile

The interest of companies in extending their vehicle fleet to electric utility vehicles is big. However, there is no established knowledge of business cost-benefit aspects yet. The research project E-Route is intending to close that gap.

Mobility and future experts are expecting a rising use of electric vehicles. This development also includes the field of utility vehicles. In logistics, there is particular potential in the area of last mile logistics. Sporadically, companies have already started to test battery-powered trucks. Currently, the research for electro-mobility is mainly concentrating on the optimization of technical bases for electric vehicles and electric utility vehicles. The question for the economic benefit, however, remains unanswered: How can companies calculate whether and in which areas the implementation of electro-mobile trucks is sensible? Which process adjustments are necessary and what is the consequence, for example for the employees’ qualification?

Objective of the Project

Logistics companies shall be supported in the sensible planning of implementing electro-mobility in commercial sectors and in restructuring their vehicle fleet. The research project E-Route is assigned to the key topic Goods Transport Management in the EffizienzCluster LogistikRuhr. Special emphasis lies on the contribution of electric utility vehicles to sustainable and environmentally friendly logistics.
E-Route consequently shows the use of commercial electric vehicles from the perspective of companies and considers the question of process adjustments in logistics operations in companies. Among those count for example the planning of disposal and routes as well as the training of employees. With both project partners – the Deutsche Post DHL as logistics company and the pharmacy association NOWEDA as retail company – the researchers gather within the scope of their actual state analysis the routes, a product travels from the regional distribution warehouse to the point of sale respectively to the customer, and the processes behind that. According to that, test and measuring rides are accompanied with a battery-powered transporter under real conditions. Both partners meet most different requirements with their demands for last-mile logistics. Based on the test drives the researchers develop business guidelines for the application of electro-mobility at the last mile.

Specific Innovations

The result of the project shall be the publishing of a handbook „Electric vehicles in last-mile logistics“, connected with an investment calculation. The practice-oriented handbook will contain numerous checklists and guidelines. For the first time, companies can thus analyze and evaluate an economic benefit of commercial electro-mobility at the last mile.

Partners in the Project

ild Institut für Logistik- & Dienstleistungsmanagement

 

PIM Institute of Production and Industrial Information Management

 

Deutsche Post DHL

 

NOWEDA eG Apothekergenossenschaft

Electro-mobility is not only a question of technology. It is also a question of business economics. Only, it eMobility is profitable for a company, the electronic transportation will gain acceptance.

Contact person

Prof. Dr. Matthias Klumpp

 

ild Institut für Logistik- & Dienstleistungsmanagement

E-Mail:
matthias.klumpp
@fom-ild.de

Facts & Figures

Start of the Project

01/12/2012

Project Duration
31 months

Project Volume
1 Mio. Euro

A compass for the logistics

 

Learn more about CPS!

Supporters
Members of EffizienzCluster
Partners

EffizienzCluster Management GmbH
Kölner Str. 80 - 82
45481 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Tel.: 0208-9925 - 255
Fax: 0208-9925 - 222
E-Mail: info@effizienzcluster.de

Logo: EffizienzCluster - LogistikRuhr
Cloud

E-Route - Elektromobilität auf der letzten Meile

Das Interesse von Unternehmen an der Erweiterung ihres Fuhrparks auf Elektronutzfahrzeuge ist groß. Doch bislang gibt es noch keine gesicherten Erkenntnisse über betriebswirtschaftliche Kosten- und Nutzenaspekte. Diese Lücke will das Forschungsprojekt E-Route schließen.

Mobilitäts- und Zukunftsexperten gehen von einer steigenden Nutzung von Elektrofahrzeugen aus. Diese Entwicklung umfasst auch den Bereich der Nutzfahrzeuge. Potenzial in der Logistik gibt es insbesondere im Bereich der Last-Mile-Logistik. Unternehmen haben stellenweise bereits damit begonnen, batteriebetriebene Transporter zu testen. Die Forschung zur Elektromobilität konzentriert sich derzeit jedoch vor allem auf die Optimierung der technischen Grundlagen für Elektro- und Elektronutzfahrzeuge. Die Frage nach dem betriebswirtschaftlichen Nutzen steht jedoch weiter im Raum: Wie können Unternehmen kalkulieren, ob und in welchen Bereichen der Einsatz von elektromobilen Lieferwagen sinnvoll ist? Welche Prozessanpassungen sind erforderlich und was folgt daraus, beispielsweise für die Qualifikation der Mitarbeiter?

Ziele des Projekts

Logistik-Unternehmen sollen dabei unterstützt werden, den Einsatz von Elektromobilität im gewerblichen Bereich sinnvoll zu planen und ihre Fuhrparks entsprechend zu restrukturieren. Das Forschungsprojekt E-Route ist im EffizienzCluster LogistikRuhr dem Leitthema Güterverkehrsmanagement zugeordnet. Ein wichtiges Augenmerk liegt auf dem Beitrag der Elektronutzfahrzeuge zu einer nachhaltigen und klimafreundlichen Logistik.
E-Route beleuchtet die Nutzung von gewerblichen Elektrofahrzeugen konsequent aus dem Blickwinkel von Unternehmen und geht der Frage von Prozessanpassungen im betrieblichen Logistikablauf nach. Dazu gehören beispielsweise die Dispositions- und Routenplanung ebenso wie die Schulung der Mitarbeiter. Im Rahmen ihrer Ist-Analyse erfassen die Forscher bei den beiden Praxispartnern des Projekts – der Deutschen Post DHL als Logistik- und der Apothekengenossenschaft NOWEDA als Handelsunternehmen – die Wege, die ein Produkt vom regionalen Distributionslager zum Point of Sale bzw. zum Kunden zurücklegt, und die Prozesse, die dahinterstehen. Danach werden unter realen Bedingungen Test- und Messfahrten mit einem elektrobetriebenen Transporter begleitet. Die beiden Praxispartner decken mit ihren Ansprüchen an die Last-Mile-Logistik unterschiedlichste Anforderungen ab. Basierend auf den Testfahrten entwickeln die Forscher betriebswirtschaftliche Leitlinien für den Einsatz von Elektromobilität auf der letzten Meile.

Konkrete Innovationen

Als Ergebnis des Projektes soll das Handbuch „Elektrofahrzeuge in der Last-Mile-Logistik“, verbunden mit einer Investitionskalkulation, entstehen. Das praxisorientierte Handbuch wird zahlreiche Checklisten und Guidelines enthalten. Erstmalig können Unternehmen damit einen betriebswirtschaftlichen Nutzen der gewerblichen Elektromobilität auf der letzten Meile analysieren und bewerten.

Partner im Projekt

ild Institut für Logistik- & Dienstleistungsmanagement der FOM Hochschule

 

PIM Institut für Produktion und Industrielles Informationsmanagement, Universität Duisburg-Essen

 

Deutsche Post DHL

 

NOWEDA eG Apothekergenossenschaft

Elektromobilität ist nicht nur eine Frage der Technik. Sie ist immer auch eine Frage der Betriebswirtschaft. Nur wenn sich e-Mobilität für Unternehmen auch lohnt, wird sich der elektrische Verkehr durchsetzen.

Ansprechpartner

Prof. Dr. Matthias Klumpp

 

ild Institut für Logistik- & Dienstleistungsmanagement der FOM Hochschule

E-Mail:
matthias.klumpp
@fom-ild.de
 

Daten & Fakten

Projektstart

01.12.2012

Projektlaufzeit
31 Monate

Projektvolumen
1,0 Mio. Euro

Weitere Informationen

hier klicken

A compass for the logistics

 

Learn more about CPS!

Unterstützer
Mitglieder im EffizienzCluster Logistik e.V.
Partner

EffizienzCluster Management GmbH
Kölner Str. 80 - 82
45481 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Tel.: 0208-9925 - 255
Fax: 0208-9925 - 222
E-Mail: info@effizienzcluster.de