Logo: EffizienzCluster - LogistikRuhr
Cloud

smartNRW - optimal RFID tagging

The complexity of logistic planning and control processes in the consumer goods industry is more intensive than perhaps in any other industry. Empty shelves in supermarkets cost as much as spoiled goods. RFID tagged packaging helps to avoid out-of-stock- and out-of-shelf situations.
In order to survive in face of the competition, companies constantly depend on innovations. Radio-frequency identification (RFID) stands for technology-driven changes in production and logistics and is considered to be the key technology for achieving savings, implementing process optimizations and for improving customer service. Tagging outer packaging aims to achieve noticeable increases in efficiency for the supply chain by enabling several objects to be identified simultaneously, because collecting data in real time facilitates shorter reaction times to market fluctuations.

Objective of the Project

smartNRW is investigating the economic potential and the technical feasibility of RFID technology with respect to outer packaging to build up a self-regulating and self-optimizing supply chain. The key technical problem is the selection of the RFID tag and how to fix it to the product in the best and most economical way so as to help preserve bulk readability and the required reading range.

Specific Innovations

In the context of developing an “Optimal Tag Type and Position Evaluator”, in future it will be possible to determine the appropriate tag and optimal position automatically from a million possible combinations for a wide variety of consumer goods. Not only will the substantial electromagnetic features of typical consumer goods in their packaging be investigated, but a database will also be established including the RFID transponders and their features which are currently available on the market. This will make the selection process for RFID tags for outer packaging easier and faster. Furthermore, a manufacturing process will be developed that helps encode and insert the RFID tags at the required position in the cardboard packaging during the production of the packaging.
Processes for high-definition planning and control of supply chains and an evaluation model for inter-company RFID applications are also being developed. All development phases of the project are verified in two field tests in a real supply chain situation.

Partners in the Project

ESM GmbH & Co. KG

 

European EPC Competence Center GmbH (EECC)

 

fir an der RWTH Aachen

 

Mars service GmbH

 

METRO Cash & Carry Deutschland GmbH

 

METRO Systems GmbH

 

Mondi Bad Rappenau GmbH

More efficiency in the supply chain with RFID-tagged outer-packing

Contact person

Christian Hocken

 

fir an der RWTH Aachen

Phone: +49 241 47705 503

E-Mail: christian.hocken
@fir.rwth-aachen.de

Facts & Figures

Start of the Project

07/2011

Project Duration
36 months

Project Volume
5.8 Mio. Euro

Learn more about CPS!

The green revolution in logistics

 

Supporters
Members of EffizienzCluster
Partners

EffizienzCluster Management GmbH
Kölner Str. 80 - 82
45481 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Tel.: 0208-9925 - 255
Fax: 0208-9925 - 222
E-Mail: info@effizienzcluster.de

Logo: EffizienzCluster - LogistikRuhr
Cloud

smartNRW - optimal getagged

Die Komplexität der logistischen Planungs- und Steuerungsprozesse ist in kaum einer anderen Branche derart intensiv wie in der Konsumgüterbranche. Leere Regale im Supermarkt kosten ebenso bares Geld wie verdorbene Waren. RFID-getaggte Verpackungen sollen helfen, Out-of-Stock- und Out-of-Shelf-Situationen zu vermeiden

Um sich im Wettbewerb behaupten zu können, sind die Unternehmen auf kontinuierliche Innovationen angewiesen. Die Radiofrequenz-Identifikation (RFID) steht dabei für den technologiegetriebenen Wandel in Produktion und Logistik und gilt als Schlüsseltechnologie zur Realisierung von Einsparungen und Prozessoptimierungen sowie der Verbesserung des Kundenservice. Das Tagging von Umverpackungen soll über die simultane Identifizierung mehrerer Objekte spürbare Effizienzsteigerungen in der Supply Chain erreichen. Denn die Erhebung von Daten in Echtzeit ermöglicht kürzere Reaktionszeiten bei Marktschwankungen

Ziel des Verbundprojektes

smartNRW untersucht das wirtschaftliche Potenzial und die technische Machbarkeit von RFID-Technologie auf Umverpackungsebene, um eine sich selbst regulierende und optimierende Supply Chain aufzubauen. Zentrales technisches Problem ist die Auswahl des RFID-Tags und die optimale und wirtschaftliche Anbringung am Produkt, so dass Pulklesefähigkeit und benötigte Lesereichweite erhalten bleiben.

Konkrete Innovationen

Mit der Entwicklung eines „Optimal Tag Type and Position Evaluator“ werden künftig für eine Vielzahl an Konsumgütern der passende Tag und die optimale Position unter Millionen von Kombinationsmöglichkeiten automatisiert bestimmt werden können. Dazu werden nicht nur die maßgeblichen elektromagnetischen Eigenschaften von typischen Konsumprodukten in ihrer Verpackung ermittelt, sondern auch eine Datenbank mit am Markt beziehbaren RFID-Transpondern und ihren Eigenschaften aufgebaut. So soll der Auswahlprozess für RFID-Tags für Umverpackungen erleichtert und beschleunigt werden. Weiterhin soll ein Produktionsverfahren entwickelt werden, mit dem RFID-Tags bereits bei der Kartonagenproduktion an der gewünschten Position in die Kartonage eingebracht und beschrieben werden können. Im wirtschaftlichen Schwerpunkt werden Verfahren zur hochauflösenden Planung und Steuerung der Supply Chain sowie ein Bewertungsmodell für den unternehmensübergreifenden RFID-Einsatz entwickelt. Alle Entwicklungen des Projekts werden in zwei Feldversuchen in der realen Lieferkette erprobt.

Partner im Projekt

ESM GmbH & Co. KG

 

European EPC Competence Center GmbH (EECC)

 

fir an der RWTH Aachen

 

Mars service GmbH

 

METRO Cash & Carry Deutschland GmbH

 

METRO Systems GmbH

 

Mondi Bad Rappenau GmbH

Wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen

Mehr Effizienz in der Lieferkette mit RFID-getaggten Umverpackungen

Ansprechpartner

Christian Hocken

 

fir an der RWTH Aachen

Tel. +49 241 47705 503

E-Mail: christian.hocken
@fir.rwth-aachen.de
 

Daten & Fakten

Projektstart

Juli 2011 

Projektlaufzeit
36 Monate

Projektvolumen
5,8 Mio. Euro

Learn more about CPS!

The green revolution in logistics

 

Unterstützer
Mitglieder im EffizienzCluster Logistik e.V.
Partner

EffizienzCluster Management GmbH
Kölner Str. 80 - 82
45481 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Tel.: 0208-9925 - 255
Fax: 0208-9925 - 222
E-Mail: info@effizienzcluster.de